Pyrographed Heart Signs

2014-02-13 08.22.46This year I made lots of my own christmas presents, and these pyrographed heart signs I made were very popular! I was unsure about putting how to make them up on the blog, however I had a bit of research and you can get a pyrography tool for less than £15 on the internet, for example here or here . I am very lucky to have a creative family, I borrowed the pyrography kit from my Mum and my Dad cut the hearts out of beech faced plywood with his scrollsaw. If you don’t have access to a shed full of tools, you can buy ready cut wooden hearts on the internet, for example here or here.

You will need: a wooden heart, a pyrography tool, pretty ribbon, a rubber and a pencil.20140127_182021

First of all lightly draw your design onto the heart in pencil. I wrote a simple word in curly lettering, and then a doodly pattern around the outside, lots of small teardrops, hearts and flowers that interlock together. 20140127_184043Turn your pyrography tool on to a low heat and start to trace the pencil design. Pyrography is just like drawing, use the tool exactly how you would use a pen. 20140127_185236Make sure you go over the lettering a couple of times to make it really stand out, and go around the outlines of the shapes.20140127_190234Choose a couple of shapes and fill them in completely, and for others just go around the outlines, splitting the shape into two sections. Thread some pretty ribbon through the top, I used a polka dot red ribbon. You can write names, words, quotes, whatever you fancy that is unique to the person you are giving it to!

20131219_164423This is a larger heart I did in pine for my friend Becky for Christmas. I think these make gorgeous presents, and are totally unique, you could also do them for Valentines Day. This is a craft you can enjoy and be completely creative with, just like sketching, I think it’s really fun.

Love Mrs Gardom

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “Pyrographed Heart Signs

Leave a Reply

