My Wonderful Bookshelf Shoe Rack

20140107_135514I have a confession – I am shoe maniac. I refuse to count how many pairs I have. I just love the way the perfect pair of shoes make you feel like you can take on the world (though totter somewhat). However, we live in a one bedroom rented flat and this makes storage rather difficult. I remember watching house programmes when I was younger and thought ‘why do all those boring people get so excited about storage space? how dull!’. Unfortunately as a reluctant adult I have realised that actually it’s kind of useful to have places to put things. This big old bookshelf was in my mum and dad’s house, I think it belonged to my great grandma, and is the perfect size for our hallway. I love the antique wood and the dark colour, and it makes a feature of all my wonderful shoes, instead of dumping them in the wardrobe, I must admit, some do get dumped in the wardrobe, there isn’t quite enough room for the whole collection. So anyway, this is one of my favourite things in our house. Why use a bookshelf for books anyway?

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

